• Serving Jakarta / Indonesia
    Soekarno–Hatta International Airport
  • Jakarta Airport Information

    Soekarno–Hatta International Airport: Jakarta, Tangerang, Banten 19120, Indonesia

Jakarta Soekarno-Hatta International Airport
Jakarta Soekarno-Hatta International Airport


Soekarno-Hatta International Airport, which is known as Jakarta Soekarno-Hatta International Airport, is located in Jakarta, Indonesia. The airport is about 25 miles northwest from the city of Jakarta.

History of Jakarta Soekarno-Hatta Airport

Although air traffic was going through Kemayoran Airport and Halim Perdanakusuma Airport, certain leaders recognized the need to build a new airport to handle future passengers and air traffic. Exploration for a new airport began in the 1970s and eight potential sites were considered. The sites that were considered were North Tangerang, Babakan, South Tangerang, Curug, Kemayoran, Halim, Malaka, and Jonggol. After much deliberation, the North Tangerang site was selected. Among the plans for the new airport in Jakarta included three runways, three domestic terminals, and three international terminals. The architect chosen for the design of the airport was Frenchman Paul Andreu. Paul Andreu has designed a number of airports around the world. As the new airport was being constructed, the Halim Perdanakusumah Airport was expanded to fit the needs of passengers and air traffic. Construction was completed on the Soekarno-Hatta International Airport on December 1, 1984. The next year, the airport officially opened on May 1. The name of the airport came as a combination of the first president and first vice-president of Indonesia. The names of those men are Soekarno and Mohammad Hatta. Today, Kemayoran Airport no longer functions as an airport. However, Halim Perdanakusumah Airport continues to serve military flights and charter flights. Soekarno-Hatta International Airport had over 50 million passengers in 2011. Plans are being made to expand the airport to meet current and future needs of air traffic and passengers.

Terminal Information

There are three terminals at the Soekarno-Hatta International Airport in Jakarta. The terminals are Terminal 1, Terminal 2, and Terminal 3. Terminal 1 opened to the public in 1985 and only serves domestic flights. It has seven gates and is able to receive up to nine million passengers each year. The second terminal at the airport in Jakarta is Terminal 2. It was built in 1991. This terminal receives most of the international flights that come into Jakarta. There are three sub-terminals within this terminal. Like Terminal 1, Terminal 2 has the capacity to receive up to nine million passengers. There are 21 gates at this terminal. The 21 gates are divided up into three sections. The first section is Gate D. It has Gates D1-D7. The second section is Gate E. It has Gates E1-E7. The third and final gate is Gate F. It has Gates F1-F7. The third terminal at Soekarno-Hatta International Airport is Terminal 3. Construction on this terminal was finished in 2009. It can receive up to four million passengers a year. It addition to receiving domestic flights, it receives international flights as well.

Just east of Terminal 1 is the Freight Terminal. It is a place where freight can be sent whether domestically or internationally. In the future, the Freight Terminal will be moved to the west of Terminal 2.

Airport Operations

There are two runways at Soekarno-Hatta International Airport. The first runway is exactly 11,500 feet. 11,545 feet is the length of the second runway. Both runways are made out of pavement.